Over the last few weeks, I’ve had a couple ideas creep up on me.

  1. When I start my career as a teacher, I need to set time aside in class for recreational reading at least once a week.
  2. I need to build a library to give students recreational reading choices. Just a small one, for my class with a bunch of books on different topics for different reading levels, fiction and non-fiction that will likely appeal to adolescent readers.
  3. I want to try out reading logs with my classes, requiring students to try out different genres during their in class (and outside of class) reading. (This page seems to have a good model, but it would have to be changed a lot for middle and high school readers.)
  4. At the end of the semester or year, students should pick one book from their reading log to write a short blurb about to recommend it to another reader. Then, students will choose a book that someone else recommends for their last required recreational reading for the year. I think this is important to add to any genre study, since it helps students realize that they can connect to other readers by reading the same  books (and therefore open the possibilities of joining book clubs when they become adults).

Just some thoughts. Consider it a note-to-self that I’m sharing in the event it could help any of you. New blog post on the way

Leave a Reply

